The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)

The Republic of Sakha
(Yakutia)

The Republic of Sakha is the largest region of Russia. By area it surpasses Argentina. Yakutia is one of the rare places on Earth with pristine nature. 80% of the territory is covered by taiga forests. The region has many rivers and lakes and rich fauna. Mountains and uplands prevail in the landscape.

The administrative center is the city of Yakutsk

Area 3 083 423 km².

Population 964 330 people (2018).

Population density 0,31 people per km² (2018)

Web site: www.sakha.gov.ru

Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Chukotka Autonomous Region Magadan Region Kamchatka Krai Sakhalin Region Khabarovsk Krai Amur Region Primorsky Krai Jewish Autonomous Region Republic of Buryatia Zabaykalsky KraiRussian Far East

History

1632, when the Cossack Petr Beketov founded stockaded town Lensky Ostrog on the right bank of Lena River, is considered as the year of Yakutia's entry into Russia. Soon an independent Yakut County with direct subordination to the Siberian department was formed here. Later it transformed into Yakut region of Irkutsk province. Since its foundation, the city of Yakutsk has become not only the administrative, military, commercial, cultural, and religious center of Yakutsk County, but also the home base for exploration and development of new territories in the Far East and the northeast of Asia.

At the beginning of the XX century, agriculture was the main occupation of the population of Yakut region. At the same time, the foundation for the industry of local importance was laid. Sawmill, leather and foot-wear factory, and brickworks were launched. Fish catch in the lower reaches of Lena River and salt production continued.

The region received a new incentive for further development in the post-war period. Chulmanskoye and Neryungrinskoye coal deposits and Taezhninskoye and Sivaglinskoye iron ore deposits were discovered in the Southern Yakutia. Long-term survey works of presence of oil-and-gas in Yakutia were crowned with success. By the end of the 70s, almost the entire volume of diamonds, antimony and significant share of gold, mica, and tin of the country were mined here.

Geographical location

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) is located in the north-eastern part of Eurasia and is a part of the Far Eastern Federal District. Yakutia is the largest territorial entity of the Russian Federation. The total area of continental and island (Lyakhovsky, Anzhu and De Long Islands which are a part of the Novosibirsk Islands of the Arctic Ocean) of Yakutia makes 3.1 million sq km. More than 40% of the republic's territory lies in the Arctic Circle. There are three time zones in the republic.

The length of Yakutia in the latitudinal direction makes 2500 km, in the meridional 2000 km. In the west, the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) borders Krasnoyarsky Krai, in the southwest Irkutsk Region, in the south Amur and Chita Regions, in the southeast Khabarovsk Krai, in the east Magadan Region and Chukotka Autonomous District. In the north, its natural boundaries are formed by the Laptev and the East Siberian seas. The total length of the sea coastline exceeds 4,5 thousand km.

Time zone

The territory of Yakutia extends over three time zones having the difference with Moscow time of +6, +7, +8 hours. To date, Yakutia is one of the most detached and hard-to-reach regions of the world in terms of transport: 90% of the territory has no year-round transport connection.

Physical and geographical characteristics

Specific feature of Yakutia consists in diversity of natural conditions and resources, which is caused by its physical and geographical location. Biggest part of the territory is covered by mountains and plateaus, which account for more than 2/3 of its surface; the share of lowlands makes only 1/3. The highest point - Mount Pobeda (3147 m) - is located on Cherskogo ridge.

Almost the entire continental part of Yakutia is a zone of centuries-long entire permafrost. The average capacity of the frozen layer reaches 300-400 m, and in the basin of Vilyuy River this value makes 1500 m: this is the maximum freezing of rocks in the world.

Natural resources

Yakutia is one of the rare places on Earth with pristine nature and amazing variety of flora and fauna. The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) accounts for more than 30% of the wilderness of Russia, or more than 10% of wilderness in the world. More than 90% of Yakutia's territory is not affected or poorly affected by industrial development and forms the ecosystem with undisturbed course of the natural processes.

Yakutia has one of the greatest numbers of rivers (700 thousand) and lakes (over 800 thousand) in Russia. The total length of all its rivers is about 2 million km. The largest navigable rivers: Lena, Vilyui, Aldan, Kolyma, Indigirka, Olekma, Anabar, and Yana.

The territory of Yakutia lies within the boundaries of four geographical zones: taiga forests (almost 80% of the area), tundra, forest tundra, and the arctic desert.

Yakutia is a part of taiga and tundra zoogeographical zone with incredibly rich fauna.

Climate

In many respects, the natural and climatic conditions of Yakutia are extreme. First of all, Yakutia is the coldest of the inhabited regions of the planet. The climate is distinctly continental, with long winter and short summer periods. The maximum range of the mean temperatures of the coldest month (January) and the warmest month (July) makes 70-75C. By the absolute value of the minimum temperature (up to -70C) and its total duration (from 6.5 to 9 months per year) the republic has no analogues in the northern hemisphere.

Flora and fauna

The trees prevailing in Yakutia include Dahurian larch (85% of the forest area); the other widespread trees are pine, dwarf pine, spruce, birch, aspen, in the southern regions - Siberian cedar, in the mountains - fragrant poplar and Chozenia.

More than ¼ of the republic's area is classified as specially protected natural areas. In Yakutia, there are two reserves of the Russian Federation, 6 national nature parks, for example, the legendary Lensky Pillars that was listed as UNESCO World Heritage in 2012, "Yansky Mammoths" state nature reserve, and other specially protected natural areas.

The fauna of Yakutia includes: in the islands walrus, seal, polar bear; in the continental territory elk, reindeer, musk deer, snow sheep, Manchurian deer, brown bear, wolf, red fox, polar fox, sable, ermine, Siberian weasel, American mink.

About 50 species of fish inhabit marine, river, and lake basins of the republic. Salmon fishes and whitefish prevail. The territory of Yakutia is also known as a place of mass nesting of more than 250 species of birds including some rare birds, such as Ross' gull, white and black cranes, little curlew and gyrfalcon listed in the International Red Book.

Soils

Permafrost and taiga soils can be found almost everywhere in Yakutia. Permafrost and mountain and forest and mountain tundra soils prevail in the mountains. In the central Yakutia, the typical soils are sod-forest, pale-yellow, loamy (partially solodized), alluvial meadow soils, in other parts - mountain-forest, marsh, and tundra-gley soils.

Permafrost floodplain soils occupying significant areas in floodplains of the rivers Lena, Amga, Vilyui, Aldan are the most promising for development and high yields of herbs and crops. The floodplain soils are of great importance. High-yielding hayfields and grasslands are located here. Although subzone of the middle taiga has severe climate, the heat reserves are enough for cultivation of crops and vegetables.

Population

The share of the urban population of Yakutia 64.1%, rural 35.9%.

There are more than 120 nationalities living in the republic. The share of Yakuts in the national composition of the population 49.9%, Russians 37.8%, Ukrainians 2.2%, Evenks 2.2%, Evens 1.6%, Tatars 0.9%. Despite the large area, the territory of Yakutia has been poorly populated throughout the last century: both at beginning and at the end of the century, the average population density was ten times lower than in the European regions of Russia.

Yakutsk, the capital of the Republic of Sakha, is the largest city in the world, located in the permafrost zone.

Administrative and territorial division

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) includes 1 city of republican importance (Yakutsk), 34 ulus (districts) and their naslegs (rural districts), cities of ulus (district) subordination, settlement (settlements of urban type), and villages.

Economy

The Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) is one of the most important mineral-raw materials and mining regions of Russia which takes the lead in the Russian Federation by mining of diamonds, gold, and antimony. Coal, oil, natural gas, platinum, rough semi-precious stones, building materials, and other minerals are mined on a considerable scale for domestic and export purposes. According to rating of the total reserves of all types of natural resources, Yakutia ranks first in the Russian Federation.

Yakutia is the largest oil and gas region playing the key role in diversifying hydrocarbon exports to the east.

Education

There are 647 kindergartens and 652 schools in the republic. 2/3 of schools are located in rural areas. The structure of secondary vocational education consists of 48 establishments including 45 state establishments with 14 branches and 3 non-state establishments. There are 72 professions and 120 specialties. The students can study on state-funded and paid basis.

Professional personnel are trained in 7 establishments of higher education, 9 branches of the central universities, 48 establishments of secondary vocational education. The total number of students exceeds 50 thousand people.

Leading universities of Yakutia:
M.K. Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University,
Yakut State Agricultural Academy,
Arctic State Institute of Culture and Art,
Churapchinsk University of Physical Culture and Sports
V.A. Bosikov Higher School of Music.

Private universities - East-Siberian University of Economics and Management and Yakut Humanitarian University.

Culture

In the region, there are 17 theater and concert establishments; 486 libraries, including 3 libraries of the regional importance; 536 institutions of culture and leisure; 83 museums; 2 cinemas; 84 educational establishments of children's art education (children's art schools).

There are national holiday and regular tours of the leading theatres of the republic in the northern, hard-to-reach settlements.

Religion

There are 158 religious organizations registered in Yakutia. Religious organizations of Yakutia are represented by 14 faiths :

  • Orthodoxy,
  • Islam,
  • Church of Evangelical Christians,
  • Church of Christians of Evangelical Faith,
  • Seventh-day Adventists,
  • Buddhism,
  • Judaism,
  • Catholicism,
  • Bahai,
  • Old-Orthodox Community,
  • Old-Eastern Orthodox Armenian Apostolic Church,
  • New Apostolic Church.

Республика Саха (Якутия)

Республика Саха
(Якутия)

Республика Саха (Якутия) – самый крупный регион России. По площади он превосходит Аргентину. Якутия – одно из редких мест на планете, где сохранилась нетронутая человеком природа. 80% территории занимают таежные леса. В регионе много рек и озер, богатая фауна. В ландшафте преобладают горы и плоскогорья.

Административный центр — город Якутск.

Площадь — 3 083 423 км².

Население — 964 330 чел. (2018).

Плотность населения — 0,31 чел./км² (2018)

Веб-сайт: www.sakha.gov.ru

Республика Саха (Якутия) Чукотский автономный округ Магаданская область Камчатский край Сахалинская область Хабаровский край Амурская область Приморский край Еврейская автономная область Республика Бурятия Забайкальский край

История

Датой вхождения Якутии в состав России принято считать 1632 г., когда казак Петр Бекетов основал на правом берегу реки Лены Ленский острог. Вскоре здесь был образован самостоятельный Якутский уезд с непосредственным подчинением Сибирскому приказу, позднее преобразованный в Якутскую область Иркутской губернии. С момента своего основания Якутск стал не только административным, военным, торговым, культурным и религиозным центром Якутского уезда, но и опорной базой для освоения и изучения новых территорий Дальнего Востока, северо-востока Азии.

В начале XX века основным занятием населения Якутской области оставалось сельское хозяйство. В то же время закладываться основы промышленности местного значения. Были пущены лесопильный кожевенно-обувной и кирпичный заводы. Продолжались вылов рыбы в низовьях Лены и добыча соли.

Новый импульс к развитию регион получил в послевоенные годы. В Южной Якутии были обнаружены Чульманское и Нерюнгринское угольные месторождения, а также Таежнинское и Сиваглинское — железных руд. Успехом увенчались и многолетние поисковые работы на нефтегазоносность Якутии. К концу 70-х гг. здесь добывался почти весь объем производимых в стране алмазов, сурьмы, значительная часть золота, слюды, олова.

Географическое положение

Республика Саха (Якутия) расположена в северо-восточной части Евразийского материка, входит в состав Дальневосточного федерального округа и является самым большим регионом Российской Федерации. Общая площадь континентальной и островной (Ляховские, Анжу и Де-Лонга, входящие в состав Новосибирских островов Северного Ледовитого океана) территории Якутии составляет 3,1 млн кв. км. Свыше 40% территории республики находится за Полярным кругом. В ее пределах расположены три часовых пояса.

Протяженность Якутии в широтном направлении — 2500 км, в меридиональном — 2000 км. Республика Саха (Якутия) граничит на западе с Красноярским краем, на юго-западе — с Иркутской областью, на юге — с Амурской и Читинской областями, на юго-востоке — с Хабаровским краем, на востоке — с Магаданской областью и Чукотским автономным округом. На севере ее естественные рубежи образуют моря Лаптевых и Восточно-Сибирское. Общая протяженность морской береговой линии превышает 4,5 тыс. км.

Часовой пояс

Территория Якутии находится в пределах трех часовых поясов, их разница с московским временем составляет +6, +7, + 8 часов. До настоящего времени Якутия является одним из самых изолированных и труднодоступных регионов мира в транспортном отношении: 90% территории не имеет круглогодичного транспортного сообщения.

Физико-географические характеристики

Якутия характеризуется многообразием природных условий и ресурсов, что обусловлено физико-географическим положением ее территории. Большую часть занимают горы и плоскогорья, на долю которых приходится более 2/3 ее поверхности, и лишь 1/3 расположена на низменности. Самая высокая точка — гора Победа (3147 м) — находится на хребте Черского.

Почти вся континентальная территория Якутии представляет собой зону сплошной многовековой мерзлоты. Средняя мощность мерзлого слоя достигает 300-400 м, а в бассейне реки Вилюй — 1500 м: это максимальное промерзание горных пород на земном шаре.

Природные ресурсы

Якутия - одно из редких мест на планете, где сохранилась первозданная чистота природы, удивительное разнообразие флоры и фауны. На долю Республики Саха (Якутия) приходится более 30% дикой природы России, или более 10% всего мира. Более 90% территории Якутии не затронуто или слабо затронуто промышленным освоением, и представляет собой экосистемы с ненарушенным естественным ходом природных процессов.

Якутия — один из наиболее речных (700 тыс. рек и речек) и озерных (свыше 800 тыс.) районов России. Общая протяженность всех ее рек составляет около 2 млн км. Крупнейшие судоходные реки: Лена, Вилюй, Алдан, Колыма, Индигирка, Олекма, Анабар и Яна.

Территория Якутии входит в пределы четырех географических зон: таежных лесов (почти 80% площади), тундры, лесотундры и арктической пустыни. Якутия входит в таежно-тундровую зоогеографическую зону с необыкновенно богатой фауной.

Климат

Природно-климатические условия Якутии во многих отношениях характеризуются как экстремальные. Прежде всего, Якутия – самый холодный из обжитых регионов планеты. Климат резко континентальный, отличается продолжительным зимним и коротким летним периодами. Максимальная амплитуда средних температур самого холодного месяца — января и самого теплого — июля составляет 70-75°С. По абсолютной величине минимальной температуры (до – 70°С) и по ее суммарной продолжительности (от 6,5 до 9 месяцев в год) республика не имеет аналогов в Северном полушарии.

Флора и фауна

На территории Якутии из деревьев преобладает даурская лиственница (85% лесной площади), также повсеместно распространены сосна, кедровый стланик, ель, береза, осина, в южных районах — кедр сибирский, в горных — душистый тополь и чозения.

Более ¼ площади республики отнесены к особо охраняемым природным территориям. На этой площади расположены два заповедника Российской Федерации, 6 национальных природных парков, например, знаменитые «Ленские столбы», в 2012 году включенный в список Всемирного Наследия ЮНЕСКО, государственный природный заказник «Янские мамонты» и другие особо охраняемые природные территории.

В Якутии обитают: на островной территории — морж, нерпа, тюлень, белый медведь; на континентальной территории — лось, северный олень, кабарга, снежный баран, изюбр, бурый медведь, волк, лисица красная, песец, соболь, горностай, колонок, американская норка.

В морских, речных и озерных водоемах республики насчитывается около 50 видов рыб, среди которых преобладают лососевые и сиговые. Территория Якутии также известна как место массового гнездования более 250 видов птиц. Среди них такие редкие птицы, как розовая чайка, белый и черный журавли, кроншнеп-малютка и кречет, занесенные в Международную Красную книгу.

Почвы

На большей части территории Якутии развиты мерзлотно-таежные почвы. В горных районах - мерзлотно-горно-лесные и горно-тундровые почвы. В Центральной Якутии распространены дерново-лесные, палевые, суглинистые (частично осолоделые), аллювиальные луговые почвы, в остальных частях - горно-лесные, болотные и тундрово-глеевые почвы.

Наиболее перспективны для освоения и получения высоких урожаев трав и сельскохозяйственных культур мерзлотные пойменные почвы, занимающие значительные площади в поймах рек Лены, Амги, Вилюя, Алдана. Большое значение имеют пойменные почвы. Здесь высокопродуктивные сенокосы и пастбища. Подзона средней тайги хотя и имеет суровый климат, но запасов тепла здесь хватает для выращивания зерновых и овощных культур.

Население

Удельный вес городского населения Якутии – 64,1%, сельского – 35,9%. В республике проживают представители более 120 национальностей. Удельный вес якутов в национальном составе населения – 49,9%, русских – 37,8%, украинцев – 2,2%, эвенков – 2,2%, эвенов – 1,6%, татар – 0,9%. Несмотря на обширную площадь, территория Якутии характеризуется слабой заселенностью в течение всего последнего столетия: как в его начале, так и в конце средняя плотность населения здесь в десятки раз ниже, чем в европейских регионах России.

Столица Республики Саха – город Якутск – является самым крупным в мире городом, расположенным в зоне вечной мерзлоты.

Административно-территориальное деление

Республики Саха (Якутия) включает 1 город республиканского значения (Якутск), 34 улуса (района) и входящие в их состав наслеги (сельские округа), города улусного (районного) подчинения, посёлки (посёлки городского типа) и сёла.

Экономика

Республика Саха (Якутия) относится к важнейшим минерально-сырьевым и горнодобывающим регионам России, занимает ведущее место в Российской Федерации по добыче алмазов, золота, сурьмы. В значительных масштабах для внутренних и экспортных целей ведется добыча угля, нефти, природного газа, платины, камнецветного сырья, строительных материалов и других полезных ископаемых. По рейтингу общих запасов всех видов природных ресурсов Якутия занимает первое место в Российской Федерации.

Якутия является крупнейшим нефтегазовым регионом и играет значительную роль в диверсификации экспорта углеводородов в восточном направлении.

Образование

В республике работают 647 детский сад и 652 школы. 2\3 школ находятся в сельской местности. Среднее профессиональное образование включает 48 учреждений, в том числе 45 государственных с 14 филиалами и 3 негосударственных. На бюджетной и внебюджетной основе проводится обучение по 72 профессиям и 120 специальностям.

Профессиональные кадры готовят в 7 учреждениях высшего образования, 9 филиалах центральных вузов, 48 учреждениях среднего профессионального образования, в которых обучаются более 50 тысяч студентов.

Ведущие вузы Якутии:
Северо-Восточный федеральный университет имени М.К. Аммосова,
Якутская государственная сельскохозяйственная академия,
Арктический государственный институт культуры и искусства,
Чурапчинский институт физической культуры и спорта
Высшая школа музыки (институт)имени В.А. Босикова.
Негосударственные вузы - Восточно-Сибирский институт экономики и менеджмента и Якутский гуманитарный институт.

Культура

В регионе действуют 17 театрально-концертных учреждений; 486 библиотек, из них 3 республиканского значения; 536 учреждений культурно-досугового типа; 83 музея; 2 кинотеатра; 84 образовательных учреждений дополнительного художественного образования детей (детских школ искусств).

Регулярно проходят гастроли ведущих театров республики в северных, труднодоступных населенных пунктах, проводятся национальные праздники.






Религия

В Якутии зарегистрировано 158 религиозных организаций.
Религиозные организации Якутии представлены в 14 вероисповеданиях:

  • Православные,
  • Ислам,
  • Церковь евангелистских христиан,
  • Церковь христиан веры евангельской,
  • Адвентисты седьмого дня,
  • Буддизм,
  • Иудаизм,
  • Католицизм,
  • Бахаи,
  • Древлеправославная община,
  • Древневосточная православная Армянская Апостольская церковь,
  • Новоапостольская Церковь.