Kamchatka Krai

Kamchatka
Krai

Kamchatka Krai is located in the territory of the Kamchatka Peninsula. It is washed by the Pacific Ocean, the Bering Sea, and the Sea of Okhotsk. Glaciers, volcanoes, mineral springs, Valley of Geysers attract many tourists to Kamchatka. Agriculture of the region is notable for developed fur farming and reindeer breeding. The share of arable land makes 0.1% of the total region area.

The administrative center is the city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky

Area 472 300 km².

Population 315 600 people (2018).

Population density 0,7 people per km² (2018)

Web site: www.kamgov.ru

Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Chukotka Autonomous Region Magadan Region Kamchatka Krai Sakhalin Region Khabarovsk Krai Amur Region Primorsky Krai Jewish Autonomous Region Republic of Buryatia Zabaykalsky KraiRussian Far East

History

Since the Stone Age, Kamchatka has been inhabited by Koryaks and Itelmens. In the 17th century, the development of the Russian Siberia and the Far East began. Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky is one of the oldest cities in the Russian Far East. In 1849, Kamchatka region was formed. Later it was renamed province which structure included the newly formed Anadyr county. In 1934, it received the status of a region and was supplemented with Chukotka and Koryak national districts. The region is called Kamchatka Krai since 2007; its structure includes the administrative and territorial unit with a special status Koryak District.

Geographical location

Kamchatka Krai lies in the territory of Kamchatka Peninsula, the adjacent part of the mainland, Karaginsky and Komandorskiye Islands. From the east it is washed by the Bering Sea (the coast length of more than 2000 km), from the west - by the Sea of Okhotsk (the coast length makes about 2000 km).

Up to 14,100 rivers and streams flow across the territory of Kamchatka Krai. Main rivers: Kamchatka, Penzhina, Kuyul, Vyvenka, Pakhacha, Apuka, Ukelayat. Lakes: Talovskoye, Palanskoye.

Time zone

Kamchatka Krai is located in the 12th time zone called Kamchatka Time. The UTC offset makes +12:00. The difference with Moscow, the capital of the Russian Federation, makes 9 hours.

Physical and geographical characteristics

Combination of specific physical and geographical and climatic conditions led to the formation of especially dangerous hydrological phenomena and processes in Kamchatka. These include: snow avalanches and mud flows, catastrophic rises of rivers level following significant rainfall floods and ice-jam phenomena, riverbed deformations.

Kamchatka is located in volcanic activity zone; there are about 300 large and medium-sized volcanoes, 29 of which are active. The largest volcano in Eurasia is Klyuchevskaya Sopka (with height of 4750 m). Volcano activity caused formation of many mineral resources and hydrogeothermal activity: formation of fumaroles, geysers, and hot springs.

Natural resources

Almost all rivers in the territory of Kamchatka Krai are of commercial fishing importance and provide spawning fund of Pacific salmon and other fish species.

Fauna of Kamchatka Krai is diverse and includes 45 species of land mammals and about 224 species of birds. The most valuable and commercially important species are brown bear, elk, snow sheep, sable.

The main forest species of Kamchatka Krai include stone birch, white birch, dwarf pine, alder pine, Kurile Dahurian (Kamchatka) larch, Ajan spruce.

The forest resources occupy 95.3% of the total land area of Kamchatka Krai.

Climate

The climate of Kamchatka is oceanic, relatively mild, with a high rate of precipitation - up to 1000 mm per year (the snow cover height reaches 2.5-3.0 m), excessive humidity (frequent fogs that prevail on the coasts), and a long frost-free period - up to 140 days.

In terms of climate, the most suitable area is the valley of Kamchatka River which features the climate of coniferous forest zone and is similar to the continental regions of Siberia. The frost-free period lasts here from the end of April till the end of October, and the period with temperatures above +10C makes 92 days.

Flora and fauna

Typical features of the vegetation in Kamchatka include prevalence of zonal vegetation groups and the wide spread of intrazonal flora (floodplain forests, swamps, tundra). The biggest part of the peninsula lies in the moderate climate zone and is notable for predominance of forest landscapes.

Flora of the peninsula includes 1166 species and subspecies of vascular plants relating to 410 genera and 89 families.

The list of fauna of salt-water and fresh-water fish-like vertebrates and fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, land and marine mammals of Kamchatka Krai and adjacent marine areas includes 918 species and subspecies. The Bering Sea and the Sea of Okhotsk are richest seas in the world in terms of species diversity. The fish fauna of the Sea of Okhotsk includes more than 350 species. The fauna of the Bering Sea is formed by more than 450 species of fish, crustaceans, and shellfishes, more than 200 species of birds and 26 species of marine mammals.

The fauna of marine mammals includes 7 species of seals, sea otter (kalan), walrus, and more than 20 species of large and small cetaceans.

Structure of the land fauna of the peninsula is impoverished compared to the same latitude in mainland of the North-East Asia and features lack of variety of species in biocoenoses. There are 37 land mammals, 3 of which were acclimatized (American mink, muskrat, Canadian beaver) and 1 was brought from the mainland to the internal areas of the peninsula Kolyma elk. Predators and rodents are of the key importance for the hunting sector in land ecosystems. Predators are object of commercial hunting, while rodents are most numerous animals of the region.

Ornis of the region includes 322 species and subspecies of birds, 60% of which refer to wetland and sea colonial birds.

Soil

The soil cover of Kamchatka refers to the meadow-forest zone of the forest coarse-humus soils of the Far Eastern taiga and meadow-forest region. This zone is formed by volcanic ocherous, volcanic alluvial, peat soils, and raw soils.

Soils of Kamchatka were formed in conditions of cold and excessive humidity; their main components are acid and subacid rocks of volcanic origin. They feature layered profile, light mechanical composition, loose structure, lack of nutrients, weak microbiological processes, lack of invertebrates. Swamping and the island permafrost constrain the biological activity of soils.



Population

The urban population proportion makes 78.2%; the rural population accounts for 21.8%. Most of the population lives in the cities of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Yelizovo, Vilyuchinsk and valleys of Avacha and Kamchatka Rivers.

The region's national structure is as follows: Russians - 78%, Ukrainians - 3.6%, Koryaks - 2.1%, Itelmens - 0.7%, Tatars - 0.7%, other nationalities - less than 1%. Belarusians 0.6%, Evens 0.6%, Kamchadals 0.5%, Chukchi 0.5%, other nationalities 12%.

Administrative and territorial division

Kamchatka Krai includes 3 cities of regional subordination (Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Vilyuchinsk, Yelizovo) and 11 districts, 4 of which (Karaginsky, Olyutorsky, Penzhinsky, Tigilsky) form Koryak district as the administrative and territorial unit with special status.



Economy

The industry has the leading position in the economy of Kamchatka Krai. The region produces precious and non-ferrous metals, natural gas, coal, mineral and thermal power waters, fresh groundwaters, common natural resources.

The fisheries industry of Kamchatka Krai has one of the leading positions in the fisheries of the Far East and Russia as a whole (its share in the total fish yield of the Far Eastern Basin more than 34%, of Russia more than 22.0%).

Glaciers and volcanoes, mineral and thermal springs, the legendary Valley of Geysers and the virgin fauna and flora, untouched by civilization, created perfect conditions for development of eco-tourism, hiking, and equestrian tourism on Kamchatka. The Russian and foreign travelers are attracted to Kamchatka by purest and rapid rivers, active volcanoes, mountain peaks with the height exceeding 4 000 m, and the coastal waters with rich and diverse ichthyofauna.



Education

There are 140 kindergartens and 120 schools in the region. Additional education services are provided by 68 state and municipal organizations.

The region has a well-developed a system of secondary vocational education, consisting of 11 educational establishments offering mastering of 53 professions.

In Kamchatka Krai, there are 5 universities with more than 13 master's degree programs.

Culture

There are 243 cultural and artistic institutions in Kamchatka Krai including drama and comedy theatre, puppet theatre, philharmonic hall, city orchestra and folk ensembles, as well as libraries, clubs, and museums.

The greatest number of cultural heritage sites is concentrated in the territory of the city of Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. Its center is adorned with the monuments to outstanding navigators and the monuments related to the heroic Petropavlovsk defense of August 1854.

Religion

There are 62 religious organizations of 8 confessions registered in Kamchatka Krai:

  • Petropavlovsk and Kamchatka Eparchy of the Russian Orthodox Church;
  • Central Religious Organization of the Christians of the Full Gospel, Association of Kamchatka Churches Annunciation;
  • Christians of the Evangelical Confession (the Pentecostals);
  • Church of Evangelical Christians-Baptists;
  • Religious Association of Muslims of Kamchatka Krai;
  • Roman Catholic St. Theresa of Christ child-teacher of the Church Parish;
  • Church of the Seventh-Day Adventists;
  • Community of Bahai faith followers.

There are 52 places of worship and Sunday schools.

Камчатский край

Камчатский
край

Камчатский край занимает территорию полуострова Камчатка. Омывается Тихим океаном, Беринговым и Охотским морями. Ледники, вулканы, минеральные источники, Долина гейзеров привлекают на Камчатку туристов. В сельском хозяйстве региона развиты звероводство и оленеводство. Пашни занимают 0,1% всех земель области.

Административный центр — город Петропавловск-Камчатский.

Площадь — 472 300 км².

Население — 315 600 чел. (2018).

Плотность населения — 0,7 чел./км² (2018)

Веб-сайт: www.kamgov.ru

Республика Саха (Якутия) Чукотский автономный округ Магаданская область Камчатский край Сахалинская область Хабаровский край Амурская область Приморский край Еврейская автономная область Республика Бурятия Забайкальский край

История

С каменного века Камчатка была заселена коряками и ительменами. В XVII в. началось освоение русскими Сибири и Дальнего Востока. Одним из самых старых городов на Дальнем Востоке является Петропавловск-Камчатский. В 1849 году была образована Камчатская область, позднее переименована в губернию, в её состав был включён и новообразованный Анадырский уезд. В 1934 году регион получил статус области, в ее в состав были включены Чукотский и Корякский национальные округа. С 2007 года регион носит название Камчатский край, в составе края создана административно-территориальная единица с особым статусом — Корякский округ.

Географическое положение

Камчатский край занимает территорию полуострова Камчатка, прилегающую часть материка, остров Карагинский и Командорские острова. Омывается с востока Беринговым морем (протяженность берега более 2000 км), с запада — Охотским морем (протяженность берега примерно 2000 км).

По территории Камчатского края протекают до 14 100 рек и ручьев. Основные реки: Камчатка, Пенжина, Куюл, Вывенка, Пахача, Апука, Укэлаят. Озера: Таловское, Паланское.

Часовой пояс

Камчатский край находится в 12-часовой зоне под названием Камчатское время. Смещение Всемирного координированного времени UTC составляет +12:00. Разница с Москвой, столицей Российской Федерации, составляет 9 часов.

Физико-географические характеристики

Сочетание определенных физико-географических и климатических условий способствует образованию на Камчатке особо опасных гидрологических явлений и процессов. К ним можно отнести: снежные лавины и селевые потоки, катастрофические подъемы уровней на реках в результате значительных дождевых паводков и заторных явлений, русловые деформации.


Камчатка относится к зоне активной вулканической деятельности, имеется около 300 крупных и средних вулканов, 29 из них являются действующими. Самый большой вулкан Евразии — Ключевская Сопка (высота 4750 м). С деятельностью вулканов связано образование многих полезных ископаемых, а также проявление гидрогеотермальной активности: образование фумарол, гейзеров и горячих источников.

Природные ресурсы

Практически все реки на территории Камчатского края имеют рыбохозяйственное значение, обеспечивая нерестовый фонд тихоокеанских лососей и других видов рыб.

Животный мир Камчатского края разнообразен и насчитывает 45 видов наземных млекопитающих и порядка 224 видов птиц. Наиболее ценными и значимыми в хозяйственном отношении видами являются бурый медведь, лось, снежный баран, соболь.


Основными лесообразующими породами Камчатского края являются: берёза каменная, береза белая, кедровый стланик, ольховый стланик, лиственница курильская (камчатская), ель аянская.

Лесной фонд занимает 95,3 % общей земельной площади Камчатского края.

Климат

Климат Камчатки океанический, относительно мягкий, с большим количеством осадков - до 1000 мм в год (высота снежного покрова достигает 2,5-3,0 м), избыточной влажностью (отмечается обилие туманов, господствующих на побережьях), с длительным безморозным периодом - до 140 дней.

Наиболее оптимальным районом в климатическом отношении, является долина реки Камчатки, для которой характерен климат зоны хвойных лесов и напоминающий континентальные районы Сибири. Период с безморозной погодой здесь длится с конца апреля до конца октября, а период с температурой выше +10°С составляет 92 дня.

Флора и фауна

К характерным чертам растительного покрова Камчатки можно отнести преобладание зональных групп покрова и широкое распространение интразональной растительности (пойменные леса, болота, тундры). Основная часть полуострова находится в поясе умеренного климата и характеризуется преобладанием лесных ландшафтов.

Флора полуострова представлена 1166 видами и подвидами сосудистых растений, относящихся к 410 родам и 89 семействам.

Список фауны морских и пресноводных рыбообразных и рыб, земноводных, пресмыкающихся, птиц, наземных и морских млекопитающих Камчатского края и сопредельных морских акваторий насчитывает 918 видов и подвидов животных. Берингово и Охотское моря относятся к наиболее продуктивным морям в мире. Фауна рыб Охотского моря включает более 350 видов. Фауна Берингова моря представлена более, чем 450 видами рыб, ракообразных и моллюсков, более 200 видами птиц и 26 видами морских млекопитающих.

Фауна морских млекопитающих представлена 7 видами тюленей, морской выдрой (каланом), моржом и более 20 видами крупных и мелких китообразных.

Для наземной фауны полуострова характерны обедненный по сравнению с теми же широтами материковой части Северо-Восточной Азии видовой состав и однообразие видов в биоценозах. Насчитывается 37 видов наземных млекопитающих, из которых 3 вида было акклиматизировано (американская норка, ондатра, канадский бобр) и 1 расселен из материковых районов края во внутренние районы полуострова – колымский лось. Ведущую роль для охотничьего хозяйства в наземных экосистемах играют хищные и грызуны: первые являются объектом промысловой охоты, вторые – наиболее многочисленны.

Авифауна региона включает 322 вида и подвида птиц, из которых не менее 60% представлены водно-болотными и морскими колониальными птицами.

Почвы

Почвенный покров Камчатки относится к лугово-лесной зоне лесных грубогумусных почв Дальневосточной таежно-лугово-лесной области. Здесь представлены вулканические охристые, вулканические аллювиальные, слаборазвитые, торфяные типы почв.

Почвы Камчатки формировались в условиях холодной и избыточной влажности, основными их компонентами являются кислые и слабокислые породы вулканического происхождения. Для них характерны слоистость профиля, легкий механический состав, рыхлость сложения, бедность элементов питания, слабость микробиологических процессов, бедность беспозвоночными. Биологическую активность почв сдерживает заболачивание и островная вечная мерзлота.

Население

Удельный вес городского населения – 78,2 %, сельского населения – 21,8 %. Большинство населения проживает в городах Петропавловск-Камчатский, Елизово, Вилючинск и долинах рек Авача и Камчатка.

В регионе проживают: русские — 78%, украинцы — 3,6%, коряки —2,1%, ительмены – 0,7%, татары — 0,7%, другие национальности — менее 1 %. Белорусы – 0,6%, эвены —0,6%, камчадалы — 0,5%, чукчи — 0,5%, другие национальности — 12%.

Административно-территориальное деление

Камчатский край включает 3 города краевого подчинения (Петропавловск-Камчатский, Вилючинск, Елизово) и 11 районов, 4 из которых (Карагинский, Олюторский, Пенжинский, Тигильский) составляют Корякский округ как административно-территориальную единицу с особым статусом.

Экономика

Промышленность занимает ведущее место в экономике Камчатского края. В регионе производится добыча драгоценных и цветных металлов, природного газа, угля, минеральных и теплоэнергетических вод, пресных подземных вод, общераспространенных полезных ископаемых.

Рыбохозяйственный комплекс Камчатского края занимает одно из важнейших мест в рыбном хозяйстве Дальнего Востока и России в целом (его удельный вес в уловах Дальневосточного Бассейна – более 34 %, России – более 22,0 %).

Ледники и вулканы, минеральные и термальные источники, легендарная Долина гейзеров и не тронутая цивилизацией в большинстве мест фауна и флора создали предпосылки к развитию на Камчатке экологического, пешеходного и конного туризма. Интерес у российских и зарубежных путешественников на Камчатке вызывают чистейшие бурные реки и активная деятельность вулканов, горные вершины высотой более четырёх тысяч метров и воды прибрежных морей с богатой ихтиофауной.

Образование

В регионе 140 детских садов и 120 школ. Услуги дополнительного образования предоставляют 68 государственных и муниципальных организаций.

В регионе развита система среднего профессионального образования, состоящая из 11 образовательных организаций, реализующую подготовку по 53 профессиям.

В Камчатском крае расположено 5 вузов, в которых реализуются более 13 магистерских программ.

Культура

В Камчатском крае действуют 243 учреждений культуры и искусства, в том числе театр драмы и комедии, театр кукол, филармония, городской оркестр и фольклорные ансамбли, а также библиотеки, клубы, музеи.

Наибольшее количество объектов культурного наследия расположено на территории города Петропавловска-Камчатского, в его центре установлены памятники выдающимся мореплавателям и памятники, связанные с событиями героической Петропавловской обороны августа 1854 года.

Религия

В Камчатском крае зарегистрированы 62 религиозные организации 8 конфессий:

  • Петропавловская и Камчатская епархия Русской православной Церкви;
  • Централизованная религиозная организация Христиан Полного Евангелия Объединение Камчатских Церквей
  • "Благовестие";
  • Христиане веры евангельской (пятидесятники);
  • Церковь евангельских христиан баптистов;
  • Религиозное объединение мусульман Камчатского края;
  • Римско-католический Приход Святой Терезы Младенца Иисуса-Учителя Церкви;
  • Церковь христиан адвентистов седьмого дня;
  • Община последователей Веры Бахаи.
  • Действуют 52 культовых сооружения, организованы воскресные школы.