Primorsky Krai (Primorye)

Primorsky Krai
(Primorye)

Primorsky Krai is located in the south of the Far East. It borders China and North Korea. The capital of the region is Vladivostok, one of the largest ports of the Pacific coast. Primorsky Krai takes the 3rd place in Russia by soybean production. The region's climate is favorable for growing of corn, rice, and beans.

The administrative center is the city of Vladivostok.

Area 164 673 km².

Population 1,913,037 people (2018).

Population density 11.62 people per km² (2018)

Web site: www.primorsky.ru

Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Chukotka Autonomous Region Magadan Region Kamchatka Krai Sakhalin Region Khabarovsk Krai Amur Region Primorsky Krai Jewish Autonomous Region Republic of Buryatia Zabaykalsky KraiRussian Far East

History

In 1861, the Russian government took the path of state encouragement of resettlement to Amur and Primorsky regions: these territories were declared open for settlement by peasants who had no land plots and any adventurous people of all classes willing to resettle there at their own expense. The construction of the Trans-Siberian railway was of great importance for economic development of the Russian Far East.

Industrial development of Primorye was carried out basically through the development of the rich deposits of natural resources: coal, gold, complex ores. At the beginning of the 20th century, manufacturing industry developed more dynamically. Mining industry progressed and timber export grew.

In the 1930s, Primorye was considered by the state as the raw materials base of the country. Extensive construction of roads, new industrial enterprises relating to mining, forestry, fishery, and ship repair sectors began.

In the geopolitical system of the Soviet Union, Primorye, same as in the pre-revolutionary period, took the lead among the other parts of the Russian Far East. In 1938, Primorye was divided into two regions (Krais) Khabarovsk Krai and Primorsky Krai. Primorsky Krai received its modern name and acquired the current administrative and territorial status.

Geographical location

Primorsky Krai lies in the south of the Russian Far East, in the southeastern part of the Russian Federation. In the north, it borders Khabarovsk Krai, in the west - China, in the southwest - North Korea. In the south and in the east it is washed by the Sea of Japan.

The maximum extent of the region (from the mouth of the Tumannaya River to the river head of the Samarga River) makes about 900 km. The greatest width (from the valley of the Ussuri River to the coast of the Sea of Japan) is about 280 km. The total length of the region's borders makes 3000 km including about 1500 km of sea borders.

Time zone

Local time: Moscow time +7 hours, GMT +10 hours.

Physical and geographical characteristics

The central and eastern parts of the region are covered by Sikhote-Alin Mountains. Ussuri and Prikhankai lowlands lie in the west. The spurs of the Manchurian-Korean Mountains spread along the southern borders with China. The highest peak of the region is 1933 m high Anik Mountain located in the north-east of the region, near the border with Khabarovsk Krai. Large islands: Russky, Putyatina, Askold, Popova, Rikord, Reyneke, Bolshaya Pelis. In the south-west, there is a large Khanka Lake which forms a border with China. The greatest river of the region is Ussuri which source lies on the slopes of Snezhnaya Mountain.

Natural resources

Minerals - mining & chemical and mining raw materials for non-ferrous metallurgy (tin, lead-zinc and boron-containing ores, tungsten), coal and brown coal, peat, building materials.

The largest lake of Primorye is Khanka. Its area makes 4190 sqm, depth - up to 10.6 m. The main river is Ussuri (right tributary of the Amur River), a part of which flows along the border with China. Almost all rivers of the region are suitable for timber rafting and are important sources for water supply and water power. The rivers are used for irrigation of rice paddies. In addition to the great economic importance, the rivers are valuable spawning area of passing salmon fishes salmon, cherry salmon, chum salmon.

On the coast of Primorsky Krai the Sea of Japan reaches the depth of 50-100 m, and the height of tides makes 1.8 m. From December to March, and in the northern parts until April, the sea at the coast is covered with ice. Dense and long fogs are caused by cold current moving from north to south along the coast.

Climate

The climate is mild monsoon. The winters are dry and cold, with cloudless weather. The springs are long, cool, with frequent temperature fluctuations. The summers are warm and humid; typhoons are frequent in July-August. Heavy rainfall and fog are distinctive features of the regional summer. The autumns are usually warm, dry, with cloudless weather. The average temperature in July ranges from +17 to +26C. The daily mean January temperature ranges from −8 to −18C on the coast, which, together with humidity and winds, reduces it twice compared to mainland areas with a drier climate, where the temperature reaches −38 −54C. Precipitation rate makes 600900 mm per year.

Flora and fauna

There are 2200 2500 species of vascular plants including about 250 species of trees, shrubs, and woody lianas, more than a third of the Russian ferns, thousands of algae and mushroom species, hundreds of moss species, and 600 species of lichens growing in Primorsky Krai.

Forests cover 79% of the region territory. Spruce-fir, cedar-spruce, and cedar-broad-leaved forests prevail in the mountains and gradually pass into more diverse and warm-requiring black fir and broad-leaved forests in the south-west of Primorye. In the river valleys, there are broad-leaved forests of ash, elm and Manchurian walnut.

Vegetation types similar to flora of Kamchatka dominate in the highlands: stone birch forests, thickets of dwarf pines, and mountain tundra. Willow beds, alder thickets, and forests formed by various poplars and Chosenia stretch along the riverbeds.

Fauna of the region is rich in species composition and features a combination of fauna elements of the northern and southern zones. Hoofed mammals include goral, axis deer, Manchurian deer, roe deer, musk deer, elk, wild boar; predators - Siberian tiger, lynx, leopard, wolf, bear, sable, raccoon dog, Ussuri cat, fox, Siberian weasel, otter, glutton; rodents squirrel, Manchurian hare, chipmunk, field mouse. Many species, such as sable, Siberian weasel, otter, squirrel, deer, have commercial importance.

The most exotic animals of the region are the Siberian tiger - a symbol of Primorsky Krai - Amur leopard, Amur forest cat, Asiatic black bear, Ussuri cat, and goral.

Soils

The soil cover of Primorsky Krai is formed mainly by brown and grey forest soils that are podzolized to different extents. The difference in the soil cover nature of the region is caused by diversity of the landscape. Sod-podzolic, marsh, and grey forest soils are widespread in Prikhankaya lowlands; solodic meadow soils can be also found here, though they are sparser. Grey forest and brown forest podzolized soils prevail in the foothills and on the western and southern slopes of Sikhote Alin.

Population

Urban population of the region makes 77.21%. There are more than 160 ethnic groups living in Primorye. 85.66% of inhabitants are Russians, 2.55% - Ukrainians, 0.96% - Koreans. Aboriginals of Primorsky Krai are the Udegeis, the Nanays, the Orochis, the Taz people. The number of indigenous people who have not moved to the city but preserved their traditional way of life does not exceed 1 500-2 000. They live mainly in the northern areas of the region.

Administrative and territorial division

The structure of Primorsky Krai includes 12 urban districts and 22 municipal districts that are formed by 22 urban and 101 rural settlements. The center of the region is the city of Vladivostok.

Economy

The basic industries of Primorye are industrial production, building, wholesale and retail trade, transport and communication, agriculture, hunting and forestry, fishing, fish farming.

Transport and logistics are one of the leading industries. The transit trade routes between Europe and East Asia, between North-East Asia and North America stretch through the region. The transport lines connecting ports of the region and land border crossing points between Russia and China converge here.

The entire territory of the region from north to south is crossed by the largest railway in Russia and the whole world - Trans-Siberian railway. The main line reaches the sea and ends in Vladivostok, while two more branches stretch to the ports of Nakhodka, Zarubino, and Posyet.

International transport corridors Primorye-1 and Primorye-2, connecting the Chinese provinces of Heilongjiang and Jilin with the seaports of Primorsky Krai, pass through the territory of the Free Port of Vladivostok.

Primorsky Krai has the key role in support of the sea transports in the Russian Far East. The main seaports are Vladivostok, Nakhodka, Vostochny, Posyet, Zarubino.

The main air hub of the region is the airport Vladivostok which is allowed to perform international flights.

The fish industry is the basic sector in the regional industry structure and has a great impact on the economy of not only the region and the Russian Far East, but the entire Russia. There are more than 130 fishery enterprises in the region. Annual production volume exceeds 1.5 million tons of fish and seafood.

Agriculture is developed throughout the territory of Primorsky Krai, though the main volumes are concentrated in the southern and south-western zones. Climate conditions are favorable for cultivation of almost all crops including warm-requiring (rice, melons and gourds, eggplant, pepper). Soy, corn, potatoes, and vegetables form the main share in the regional crop production. Breeding of livestock and poultry, as well as milk production are fundamentals of the animal husbandry in the region. In 2017, the region received a record soybean yield more than 380 thousand tons.

The area of agricultural land allocated to the land users of the region makes 1 194.1 thousand hectares including 707.6 thousand hectares of arable land.

Education

There are 130 elementary schools in 24 municipalities of the region. In the system of secondary vocational education there are 44 state and private establishments and 11 branches and colleges of higher education, where about 40 thousand young people study.

The system of higher education in Primorye includes five state universities (Far Eastern Federal University, Vladivostok State University of Economics and Service, Far Eastern State University of Arts, Far Eastern State Technical Fisheries University, Admiral G.I.Nevelsky Marine State University, Pacific State Medical University), as well as S.O. Makarov Higher Naval Academy which provides the fleet of Russia with staff.

Scientific activities are carried out at 20 institutes and branches of the Far Eastern Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, as well as at the Far Eastern Federal University.

Culture

Maxim Gorky Primorsky Academic Theatre, founded in 1932, remains the only academic theatre in the Far East. Actors of the theater actively tour with performances across the region and perform in the other regions of Russia and abroad. A few years ago, the Primorsky stage of the legendary Mariinsky Theatre was opened in the city of Vladivostok. The halls of the theater are provided with state-of-the-art equipment and can easily compete with the major concert venues around the world.

In addition to the permanent exhibition, Primorsky State Art Gallery regularly exhibits unique borrowed works of the famous artists Aivazovsky, Levitan, Vasnetsov, and many others. Vladivostok Circus is another one striking element of the cultural life in the region. Amazing building resembling a sea shell appeared in Primorye in the 70s and at the end of 2017, after a large-scale reconstruction, it was reborn. The circus, equipped with the latest high-tech outfits, attracts circus troupes from all over Russia and welcomes the circus stars from all over the world.

Religion

Most of the main religions of Russia are presented in Primorye. Orthodoxy is the largest confession in the territory of the region in terms of the number of church members. There are also organizations of the Old Believers, Catholicism and Protestantism, Islam, Buddhism, Krishna worship, Jehovah's Witnesses and Mormons in Primorye.

Primorsky Krai is considered a region with strong influence of Protestant Christianity. Despite the smaller number of parishioners, according to mass media, there were 178 officially registered Protestant communities in the region in 2010; while the number of Orthodox communities made 89.

The share of atheists among the population of Primorye is 35%; this is the highest rate among the regions of Russia (average value makes 13%).

The largest religious association in the region is Primorsky metropolitanate of the Russian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchate which is divided into Vladivostok and Primorsky, Arsenyevsk and Nakhodka eparchies.

There are also three relatively large unions of the Protestant churches in the region: the Union of churches of Evangelical Christian-Baptists of Primorsky Krai, Primorsky Union of the missionary churches of Evangelical Christians, and the Northeast Union of Evangelical churches.

Приморский край (Приморье)

Приморский край
(Приморье)

Приморский край находится на юге Дальнего Востока. Граничит с Китаем и КНДР. Краевой центр – город Владивосток, один из крупнейших портов Тихоокеанского побережья. Приморье занимает 3-е место в России по производству сои. Климат края также хорошо подходит для выращивания кукурузы, риса и фасоли.

Краевой центр — город Владивосток.

Площадь — 164 673 км².

Население — 1 913 037 чел. (2018).

Плотность населения — 11,62 чел./км² (2018)

Веб-сайт: www.primorsky.ru

Республика Саха (Якутия) Чукотский автономный округ Магаданская область Камчатский край Сахалинская область Хабаровский край Амурская область Приморский край Еврейская автономная область Республика Бурятия Забайкальский край

История

В 1861 году российское правительство встало на путь государственного поощрения переселения в Амурскую и Приморскую области: эти территории были объявлены открытыми для заселения крестьянами, не имеющими земли, и предприимчивыми людьми всех сословий, желающими переселиться за свой счет. Большое значение для ускорения заселения и хозяйственного освоения Дальнего Востока имело строительство Транссибирской железнодорожной магистрали.

Промышленное освоение Приморья осуществлялось в первую очередь за счет разработки богатейших природных ресурсов: угля, золота, полиметаллических руд. В начале ХХ в. более динамично развивалась обрабатывающая промышленность, прогрессировала горнодобывающая промышленность, рос экспорт леса.

В 1930-е годы Приморье рассматривалось государством как сырьевая база страны. Развернулось широкое строительство дорог, новых промышленных предприятий – горных, лесных, рыбных и судоремонтных.

В геополитической системе советского государства Приморье, как и в дореволюционный период, занимало место одной из составных частей российского дальневосточного региона. В 1938 году он был разделен на два края – Хабаровский и Приморский. Приморский край получил свое современное название и обрел нынешний административно-территориальный статус.

Географическое положение

Приморский край расположен на юге Дальнего Востока, в юго-восточной части Российской Федерации. На севере граничит с Хабаровским краем, на западе - с КНР, на юго-западе - с КНДР, с юга и востока омывается Японским морем.

Максимальная протяжённость края (от устья реки Туманной до истоков реки Самарги) около 900 км. Наибольшая ширина (от долины реки Уссури до побережья Японского моря) около 280 км. Общая протяжённость границ края 3000 км, из них морские около 1500 км.

Часовой пояс

Местное время: московское время +7 часов, время по Гринвичу +10 часов.

Физико-географические характеристики

Центральную и восточную части края занимают горы Сихотэ-Алинь, на западе — Уссурийская и Приханкайская низменности. Вдоль южных границ с Китаем раскинулись отроги Маньчжуро-Корейских гор. Самой высокой вершиной края является гора Аник высотой 1933 м, расположенная на северо-востоке края у границы с Хабаровским краем. Крупные острова: Русский, Путятина, Аскольд, Попова, Рикорда, Рейнеке, Большой Пелис. На юго-западе находится крупное озеро Ханка, по нему проходит граница с Китаем. Самой большой рекой края является Уссури, ее истоки находятся на склонах горы Снежная.

Природные ресурсы

Полезные ископаемые - горнохимическое и горнорудное сырье для цветной металлургии (олово, свинцово-цинковые и борсодержащие руды, вольфрам), каменный и бурый уголь, торф, стройматериалы.

Самое крупное озеро Приморья - Ханка. Его площадь составляет 4190 кв. м, глубина - до 10,6 м. Главная река - Уссури (правый приток р. Амур), часть которой протекает по границе с Китаем. Почти все реки края годны для сплава леса, важны как источник водоснабжения и гидроэнергии, используются в качестве оросителей рисовых плантаций. Помимо большого хозяйственного значения реки края имеют ценность как нерестилище проходных лососевых рыб — горбуши, симы, кеты.

У берегов Приморского края Японское море достигает глубины 50—100 м, а высота приливов — 1,8 м. С декабря до марта, а в северных частях до апреля, море у берегов покрыто льдом. Наличие густых и продолжительных туманов обусловлено холодным течением, которое движется в направлении с севера на юг вдоль побережья.

Климат

Климат умеренный муссонный. Зима сухая и холодная с ясной погодой. Весна продолжительная, прохладная, с частыми колебаниями температуры. Лето тёплое и влажное, в июле-августе часты тайфуны. Основная особенность приморского лета — обильные осадки и туман. Осень, как правило, тёплая, сухая, с ясной погодой. Средняя температура июля от +17 до +26 °C. Средняя температура января от ?8 до ?18 °C на побережье, что вкупе с влажностью и ветрами понижает её в 2 раза, а в материковых районах, с более сухим климатом, температура доходит до ?38?54 °C. Осадки - 600—900 мм в год.

Флора и фауна

В Приморском крае произрастает 2200—2500 видов сосудистых растений, включая около 250 видов деревьев, кустарников и деревянистых лиан, более трети — российских папоротников, тысячи — водорослей и грибов, сотни мхов и 600 видов лишайников.

Лесами покрыто 79 % территории края. В горах господствуют елово-пихтовые, кедрово-еловые и кедрово-широколиственные леса, переходящие на юго-западе Приморья в более богатые и теплолюбивые чернопихтово-широколиственные леса. В речных долинах растут увитые лианами широколиственные леса из ясеня, вяза и ореха маньчжурского.

В высокогорьях преобладают типы растительности, близкие к камчатским: каменноберёзовые леса, заросли кедрового стланика и горные тундры. Вдоль речных русел тянутся ивняки, ольшаники, леса из различных тополей и чозении.

Животный мир края богат по видовому составу и отличается сочетанием элементов фауны северных и южных районов. Из копытных животных обитают: горал, пятнистый олень, изюбр, косуля, кабарга, лось, кабан; из хищных – уссурийский тигр, рысь, леопард, волк, медведь, соболь, енотовидная собака, уссурийский кот, лисица, колонок, выдра, росомаха; из грызунов – белка, маньчжурский заяц, бурундук, полёвки. Многие виды имеют промысловое значение: соболь, колонок, выдра, белка, олени.

Самыми экзотическими животными края признаны амурский тигр – символ Приморского края, восточноазиатский леопард, амурский лесной кот, белогрудый медведь, уссурийский кот и горал.

Почвы

Почвенный покров Приморского края составляют преимущественно бурые и серые лесные почвы, в различной степени оподзоленные. Различие в характере почвенного покрова в пределах края связано с разнообразием рельефа. В Приханкайской низменности широко распространены дерново-подзолистые, болотные и серые лесные почвы, местами встречаются также осолоделые луговые. В предгорьях и на западных и южных склонах Сихотэ-Алиня развиты серые лесные и бурые лесные оподзоленные почвы.

Население

Городское население края — 77,21%. На территории Приморья проживают представители более 160 национальностей. 85,66% жителей – русские, 2,55% – украинцы, 0,96% – корейцы. Коренные жители Приморья – удэгейцы, нанайцы, орочи, тазы. Коренных жителей, не перебравшихся в город и сохранивших традиционный образ жизни, насчитывается не более 1,5-2 тысяч человек. Они живут в основном в северных районах края.

Столица Республики Саха – город Якутск – является самым крупным в мире городом, расположенным в зоне вечной мерзлоты.

Административно-территориальное деление

В состав Приморского края входит 12 городских округов и 22 муниципальных района, на территории которых расположены 22 городских и 101 сельское поселение. Краевой центр - Владивосток.

Экономика

Базовыми отраслями Приморья являются промышленное производство, строительство, оптовая и розничная торговля, транспорт и связь, сельское хозяйство, охота и лесное хозяйство, рыболовство, рыбоводство.

Одна из ведущих отраслей промышленности – транспортно-логистическая. Через край пролегают транзитные торговые пути между Европой и Восточной Азией, между Северо-Восточной Азией и Северной Америкой. Здесь сходятся все транспортные развязки, связывающие порты края, сухопутные пограничные переходы Россия-Китай.

Всю территорию края с севера на юг пересекает крупнейшая в России и в мире Транссибирская магистраль. Основная линия подходит к морю и заканчивается во Владивостоке, а еще два ответвления подходят к портам Находки, Зарубино и Посьета.

Через территорию Свободного порта Владивосток проходят международные транспортные коридоры «Приморье-1» и «Приморье-2», которые соединяют китайские провинции Хэйлунцзян и Цзилинь с морским портами Приморского края.

Приморский край играет основную роль в обеспечении морских перевозок на Дальнем Востоке. Основные морские порты - Владивосток, Находка, «Восточный», Посьет, Зарубино.

Воздушный транспорт осуществляет перевозки через главный аэропорт края «Владивосток», допущенный к выполнению международных полетов.

Рыбная отрасль является ключевой в структуре промышленности региона и оказывает большое влияние на экономику не только края и Дальнего Востока, но и всей России. На территории края действуют более 130 предприятий отрасли. Ежегодно добывается более 1,5 млн тонн рыбы и морепродуктов.

Сельскохозяйственное производство ведётся по всей территории Приморского края, но основные объёмы сконцентрированы в южной и юго-западных зонах. Климатические условия благоприятны для возделывания практически всех культур, включая теплолюбивые (рис, бахчевые, баклажаны, перец). Основную долю в краевой продукции растениеводства занимают соя, кукуруза, картофель и овощи, в животноводстве - выращивание скота и птицы, производство молока. В 2017 году край получил рекордный урожай сои – более 380 тысяч тонн.


Площадь сельскохозяйственных угодий, закрепленных за землепользователями края, составляет 1 194,1 тысяч гектаров, в том числе 707,6 тысяч гектаров пашни.

Образование

В 24 муниципалитетах края работают 130 базовых школ. В системе среднего профессионального образования – 44 государственных и негосударственных организации и 11 филиалов и колледжей вузов, где обучается около 40 тысяч молодых людей.

Система высшего образования представлена в Приморье пятью государственными университетами (Дальневосточный федеральный университет, Владивостокский государственный университет экономики и сервиса, Дальневосточный государственный институт искусств, Дальневосточный государственный технический рыбохозяйственный университет, Морской государственный университет имени адмирала Г.И. Невельского, Тихоокеанский государственный медицинский университет), а также высшим военно-морским училищем - ТОВВМУ имени С.О. Макарова, обеспечивающим кадрами флот России.

Научная деятельность осуществляется в Приморье на базе 20 институтов и филиалов Дальневосточного отделения РАН, а также Дальневосточного федерального университета.

Культура

Приморский академический театр имени Максима Горького, созданный в 1932 году, остается единственным академическим театром на Дальнем Востоке. Артисты театра активно гастролируют с постановками по краю, выступают в других регионах России и за рубежом. Несколько лет назад во Владивостоке была открыта Приморская сцена знаменитого Мариинского театра. Залы театра оснащены современным оборудованием и с легкостью составят конкуренцию крупным мировым концертным площадкам.

В Приморской государственной картинной галерее помимо постоянной экспозиции регулярно выставляются уникальные привезенные работы знаменитых художников – Айвазовского, Левитана, Васнецова и многих других. Владивостокский цирк – еще один элемент культурной жизни края. Удивительное здание, напоминающее морскую ракушку, появилось в Приморье в семидесятых годах, а в конце 2017 года после масштабной реконструкции получило новую жизнь. Оснащенное по последнему слову техники, оно привлекает цирковые труппы со всей России и готово к визиту звезд цирка со всего мира.

Религия

В Приморье представлено большинство основных религий России. Самой многочисленной конфессией на территории края является православие. Также в Приморье представлены старообрядческое, католическое и протестантское христианство, ислам, буддизм, кришнаизм, организации свидетелей Иеговы и мормонов.

Приморье считается регионом с сильным влиянием протестантского христианства. Несмотря на меньшую численность прихожан, по данным СМИ, в 2010 году в крае насчитывалось 178 официально зарегистрированных протестантских общин, в то время как православных — 89.

Доля атеистов среди населения Приморья составляет 35%, это самый высокий показатель среди регионов России (в среднем 13%).

Крупнейшим религиозным объединением на территории края является Приморская митрополия РПЦ МП, которая делится на Владивостокскую и Приморскую, Арсеньевскую и Находкинскую епархии.

Также в крае есть три относительно крупных союза протестантских церквей: Объединение церквей евангельских христиан-баптистов Приморского края, Приморское объединение миссионерских церквей евангельских христиан и Северо-восточный союз церквей евангельских христиан.