Jewish Autonomous Region

Jewish
Autonomous Region

The region is located in the southern part of the Russian Far East and has access to the seas of the Pacific Ocean through the Amur waterway. The territory of the region is crossed by the Trans-Siberian Railway, offering the shortest route from the Western Europe and the Middle East to the Asian countries. Climate of the region is favorable for growing of wheat, barley, oats, corn, soybeans, and potatoes.

The administrative center is the city of Birobidzhan

Area 36 300 km².

Population 162 014 people (2018).

Population density 4,47 people per km² (2018)

Web site: www.eao.ru

Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) Chukotka Autonomous Region Magadan Region Kamchatka Krai Sakhalin Region Khabarovsk Krai Amur Region Primorsky Krai Jewish Autonomous Region Republic of Buryatia Zabaykalsky KraiRussian Far East

History

Exploration and development of the basin of the Amur River and the Pacific coast by the Russians began in the middle of the 17th century. The efforts of the earliest explorers, Cossacks, along the Amur River led to foundation of the first stockaded towns and settlements.

In 1861, the tsarist government declared Amur lands open for settlement of peasants without plots of land and other adventurous people of all classes, willing to move there at their own expense. In that period, the society of the old-timer peasants was formed and the Amur lands were populated by exile settlers, temporary settlers, retired soldiers, and Cossacks.

Construction of the Amur railway (1908 1916) has significantly affected the settlement of the Russian Far East outskirts. During the construction process, new settlements populated by builders and maintenance personnel of the railway were founded in the territory of the future region.

The events of 1917 marked a new era in the history of the Russian Far East. In the early 1920s, the plans for land utilization by the Jewish workers and exploration of the territory for their dense settlement began being actively discussed. In 1927, Birobidzhan was chosen as the area of future colonization and mass resettlement of the Jewish population to the Amur strip started.

The increased influx of population, strengthening of inter-regional relations, rapid economy development created conditions for the organization of the Jewish Autonomous Region; industrial, social and cultural, housing construction began.

Geographical location

The Jewish Autonomous Region is located in the southern part of the Russian Far East and has a favorable geographical location. In the west it borders the Amur Region, in the east - the Khabarovsk Region, and in the south its border along the Amur River forms the state border between Russia and China.

The region is located in close proximity to the coast of the Pacific Ocean and the key economic partners of the region; through the Amur waterway it has access to the Pacific Ocean. The region territory is crossed by the Trans-Siberian railway providing the shortest route from the Western Europe and the Middle East to the countries of the Asian and Pacific region.

The territory surface is represented by two kinds of relief: mountains and plains. Mountains are mostly low and feature smooth peaks and large-hilly landscape.

Time zone

Standard time zone: UTC+10:00

Physical and geographical characteristics

The length of the Jewish Autonomous Region from west to east - 330 km, from north to south - 200 km.

The region lies in close proximity to the main international economic partners located on the Asia-Pacific coast and has access to the Pacific Ocean through the Amur waterway. In the territory of the region, there are three border-crossing points with the People's Republic of China; he Trans-Siberian railway offering the shortest routes from Europe to the Asia-Pacific countries stretches through the region.

Natural resources

The basis of the regional land resources is formed by the forest resources, forest reserves, and specially protected natural areas. Only 10% of the territory is allocated for the agricultural lands.

The raw material base of the region includes the following resources: iron, graphite, manganese, magnesium and carbonate raw materials, tin, brown coal, peat, zeolite, alluvial gold, indium, precious, semi-precious, and facing stones.

The region has the second largest graphite deposit in the world.

The Kuldura thermal mineral spring is of great value; its waters have a unique chemical composition and contain aluminum, iron, manganese, titanium, chrome, copper, silver, chlorine, lithium, barium, strontium, and fluorine.

Climate

By its climatic conditions, the region is considered as one of the most favorable corners of the Far East. Winters are snowy and cold, summers are warm and humid.

The warmest month is July, the coldest month is January. The average temperature of July makes +20 degrees. The average January temperature in the south makes -24 degrees. The first autumn frosts begin on September 20 - October 7 and stable snow cover is usually formed in the third decade of October.

The greatest part of the region lies in a zone of sufficient moisture. 85% of the precipitation, which is distributed unevenly over the months, falls in the warm season. At the beginning of summer, the rains are rare, which leads to the lack of moisture. But at the end of July and the beginning of August, the precipitation increases sharply and exceeds its amount in the first half of the summer twice.

Flora and fauna

Forest is the dominant type of vegetation in the Jewish Region. It accounts for 45% of the territory.

Northern mountainous areas are covered by dark coniferous forests, which have been severely affected by forest fires and logging. Cedar and broad-leaved forests notable for a great variety of species of both dendroflora and grassy plants grow in the middle mountain zone. The coniferous neighbors of the Korean cedar are Yezo spruce and white fir, and the deciduous neighbors are Amur lime tree, fine-leaved and greenbark maple, Amur cork tree, Manchurian walnut. Oak woods are the main plant formation of the low-mountain areas, the bank of the Amur River, and the plains.

The region's fauna was formed at the junction of four landscape complexes. Amur region fauna is associated with the mountain and valley cedar broad-leaved and floodplain forests. The animals forming this type of fauna include Himalayan bear, Amur leopard cat, mountain weasel, Manchurian hare, raccoon dog, Far Eastern turtle, Japanese tree toad.

Okhotsk and Kamchatka fauna type can be found in the dark coniferous taiga. These forests are inhabited by animals most of which are typical for the mountain taiga of Siberia and the Russian Far East. This fauna includes brown bear, musk deer, sable, squirrel, mountain hare, nutcracker, Ussurian bullfinch, siskin, common crossbill, rustic bunting, coal tit, Siberian wood frog.

East Siberian fauna is inherent in light-coniferous forests - larch and pine forests, and maris (high larch forests). This fauna includes elk, ermine, red vole, northern red-backed vole, Siberian jay, rock capercaillie, bullfinch, Naumann's thrush, willow tit, common lizard, Siberian salamander.

The Daurian and Mongolian fauna of dry steppes and mountain forest-steppe is sparsely represented in the region. These are such species as striped hamster, white-naped crane, Daurian partridge, Siberian toad.

Soils

The region territory features the following main types of soil cover: mountain and forest brown podzolized soils, brown-podzolic soils, sod-podzol soils, meadow grey soils, and marsh soils.

Loam soils are the best arable land in the region. They are mainly concentrated in the floodplain of the Amur River. These soils are covered with oak woods with hazel brushwood or white-birch forests with a shrub level of willows. The humus layer on the virgin lands makes up to 12 cm and has the grey color. It features high water permeability, but low potential fertility.

Population

The urban population of the Jewish Autonomous Region makes 68.77%.

Administrative and territorial division

The region includes 1 city of regional status - Birobidzhan, and 5 districts: Birobidzhan district, Leninsky district, Obluchensky district, Oktyabrsky district, Smidovichsky district.

The administrative center of the region is the city of Birobidzhan.

Economy

The mining sector takes the lead in the region's economy. The mined resources include tin, graphite ore, and manganese.

62 agricultural enterprises, 278 peasant (farm) companies, 12 individual entrepreneurs are engaged in the agricultural production in the Jewish Autonomous Region and 23.9 thousand of citizens have private farm households.

The area of agricultural land in the Jewish Autonomous Region makes 464.2 thousand ha.

Agricultural consumer cooperatives in the Jewish Autonomous Region receive the grant support for creation and development of their business.

The measures aimed at improvement of the housing conditions of citizens living in the rural areas, including young families and young professionals, are being taken.

Education

There are 83 kindergartens, 65 schools, 7 professional educational institutions, 1 university, Sholem Aleichem Amur State University, in the region.

In addition to the implementation of vocational educational programs, vocational educational institutions offer quite a wide range of vocational training programs: short-term vocational training programs for blue-collar jobs and office workers, advanced training and retraining of blue-collar and white-collar workers.

The Institute for Complex Analysis of the Regional Problems of the Far East Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences is located in the territory of the Jewish Autonomous Region.

Culture

Cultural and leisure activities of the population are provided by 78 clubhouses, 65 of which are located in rural areas. 38 amateur performance teams have Honoured rank. More than one and a half thousand people, including more than a thousand children and teenagers, are involved in them.

Creative teams and soloists successfully perform not only on venues of the region and Russia, but around the whole world. There are Birobidzhan regional philharmonic hall and puppet theater in the region.

The library network of the region consists of 49 libraries. 39 of them are located in rural areas.

There are 19 museums in the region, including the Regional Museum of Local Studies and the Museum of Modern Art of the Jewish Autonomous Region; 5 children's music schools, 2 fine art schools, 1 art school, 1 dance school. The personnel working in the field of culture is trained at Birobidzhan Regional College of Culture.

Religion

Currently, there are 55 religious organizations including two Jewish and one Muslim community, registered and working in the territory of the Jewish Autonomous Region. Various schools of Protestantism and Neo-Protestantism unite people of the following confessions: the traditional Protestants, the Evangelical Christian Baptists, the Seventh-Day Adventists, the Pentecostals Evangelical Christians, the Evangelical Christians adhering to the charismatic church, the Presbyterians.

Еврейская автономная область

Еврейская
автономная область

Область расположена в южной части Дальнего Востока и имеет выход в моря Тихого океана через Амурский водный путь. По ее территории проходит Транссибирская магистраль, которая обеспечивает самый краткий путь из Западной Европы и Ближнего Востока в азиатские страны. Климат региона благоприятен для выращивания пшеницы, ячменя, овса, кукурузы, сои и картофеля.

Административный центр — город Биробиджан.

Площадь — 36 300 км².

Население — 162 014 чел. (2018).

Плотность населения — 4,47 чел./км² (2018)

Веб-сайт: www.eao.ru

Республика Саха (Якутия) Чукотский автономный округ Магаданская область Камчатский край Сахалинская область Хабаровский край Амурская область Приморский край Еврейская автономная область Республика Бурятия Забайкальский край

История

Освоение бассейна реки Амур и побережья Тихого океана русскими людьми началось с середины XVII века. Усилиями казаков-первопроходцев на амурском речном пути возникали первые остроги и поселения.

С 1861 года приамурские земли были объявлены царским правительством открытыми для заселения "крестьянами, не имеющими земли, и предприимчивыми людьми всех сословий, желающими переселиться за свой счет". Именно в эти годы происходило формирование крестьян-старожилов, заселение приамурских земель ссыльнопоселенцами, временными поселенцами, отставными солдатами и казаками.

На заселение дальневосточной окраины существенное влияние оказало строительство Амурской железной дороги (1908 – 1916 гг.). В ходе строительства на территории будущей области были образованы новые населенные пункты, в которых жили строители и обслуживающий персонал железной дороги.

События 1917 г. перевернули новую страницу в истории Дальнего Востока. В начале 1920-х годов стали активно обсуждаться планы землеустройства трудящихся евреев и изыскания территории для их компактного проживания. В 1927 г. был определен район будущей колонизации – Биробиджанский, начало массового переселения еврейского населения на приамурскую полосу.

Усилившийся приток населения, укрепление межрайонных связей, быстрые темпы развития хозяйства создали условия для организации Еврейской автономной области, началось промышленное, социально-культурное, жилищное строительство.

Географическое положение

Еврейская автономная область расположена в южной части российского Дальнего Востока и имеет выгодное географическое положение. На западе граничит с Амурской областью, на востоке - с Хабаровским краем, на юге ее граница по реке Амур совпадает с государственной границей России и Китая.

Область находится в непосредственной близости к побережью Тихого океана и основным экономическим партнерам в этом регионе, имеет выход в моря Тихого океана через Амурский водный путь. По ее территории проходит Транссибирская магистраль, которая обеспечивает наикратчайшие маршруты из Западной Европы и Ближнего Востока в страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона.

Поверхность территории области представлена двумя типами рельефа: горным и равнинным. Горы в основном низкие, отличаются сглаженными формами вершин и имеют вид крупнохолмистой страны.

Часовой пояс

Стандартный часовой пояс: UTC+10:00

Физико-географические характеристики

Протяженность Еврейской автономной области с запада на восток – 330 км, с севера на юг – 200 км.


Область находится в непосредственной близости к основным международным экономическим партнерам Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона, имеет выход в моря Тихого океана через Амурский водный путь. На территории области действуют три пограничных перехода с Китайской Народной Республикой, через нее проходит Транссибирская железнодорожная магистраль, которая обеспечивает кратчайшие маршруты из Европы в страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона.

Природные ресурсы

Основу земельных ресурсов области составляют земли лесного фонда, запаса и особо охраняемых территорий. Под земли сельскохозяйственного назначения отведено более 10% территории.

Минерально-сырьевая база области включает в себя запасы: железа, графита, марганца, магнезиального и карбонатного сырья, олова, бурого угля, торфа, цеолита, россыпного золота, индия, драгоценных, полудрагоценных и облицовочных камней.

На территории региона расположено второе по величине запасов в мире месторождение графита.

Большую ценность представляет Кульдурский термоминеральный источник, его воды обладают уникальным химическим составом и содержат: алюминий, железо, марганец, титан, хром, медь, серебро, хлор, литий, барий, стронций и фтор.

Климат

По своим климатическим условиям область принадлежит к одному из самых благоприятных уголков Дальнего Востока. Зима малоснежная и холодная, лето теплое и влажное.

Самым теплым месяцем является июль, самым холодным – январь. Средняя температура июля + 20 градусов. Средняя температура января на юге - 24 градуса. Первые осенние заморозки начинаются 20 сентября - 7 октября, а устойчивый снежный покров обычно образуется в третьей декаде октября.

Область относится в основном к зоне достаточного увлажнения. На теплый период года приходится 85% осадков, которые распределяются по месяцам неравномерно. В начале лета дождей бывает немного, что приводит к дефициту влаги. Но в конце июля - начале августа наблюдается резкое увеличение количества осадков, превышающих в два раза их норму первой половины лета.

Флора и фауна

Господствующим типом растительности Еврейской области является лесной. На его долю приходится 45% территории.

Северные горные районы занимают темнохвойные леса, на состоянии которых сильно отразились лесные пожары и лесозаготовки. В среднем горном поясе произрастают кедрово-широколиственные леса, которые отличаются большим видовым разнообразием как дендрофлоры, так и травянистых растений. Спутниками кедра корейского из хвойных растений являются ель аянская, пихта белокорая, а из лиственных – липа амурская, клены мелколистный и зеленокорый, бархат амурский, орех маньчжурский. Основной растительной формацией низкогорных районов, побережья Амура, а нередко и равнинных областей являются дубняки.

Животный мир региона сформировался на стыке четырех ландшафтных комплексов. Приамурский тип фауны связан с горными и долинными кедрово-широколиственными и пойменными лесами. К представителям этого типа фауны относятся: гималайский медведь, дальневосточный лесной кот, солонгой, маньчжурский заяц, енотовидная собака, дальневосточная черепаха, дальневосточная квакша.

Охотско-камчатский тип фауны приурочен к темнохвойной тайге. В этих лесах обитают животные, большинство из которых обычны для горной тайги Сибири и Дальнего Востока. К этой фауне относятся: бурый медведь, кабарга, соболь, белка, заяц-беляк, кедровка, уссурийский снегирь, чиж, клест-еловик, овсянка ремез, синица-московка, сибирская лягушка.

Восточно-сибирская фауна присуща светлохвойным лесам - лиственничникам и соснякам, а также марям. К этой фауне относятся: лось, горностай, красная полевка, кукша, каменный глухарь, снегирь, дрозд Наумана, буроголовая гаичка, живородящая ящерица, сибирский углозуб.


Дауро-монгольская фауна сухих степей и горной лесостепи представлена в области фрагментарно. Это такие виды как даурский хомячок, даурский журавль, бородатая куропатка, монгольская жаба.

Почвы

На территории области выделяются следующие основные типы почвенного покрова: горно-лесные бурые оподзоленные почвы, буро-подзолистые почвы, дерново-подзолистые, луговые глеевые и болотные почвы.

Суглинистые почвы – лучшие пахотные земли региона. В основном они сосредоточены в пойме Амура. Покрыты дубняками с подлеском из лещины или белоберезниками с кустарниковым ярусом из ив. Гумусовый горизонт на целине до 12 см мощности, серого цвета. Хорошая водопроницаемость, но низкая потенциальная плодородность.

Население

Городское население Еврейской автономной области составляет 68,77%.

Административно-территориальное деление

Область включает 1 город областного значения - Биробиджан, 5 районов: Биробиджанский район, Ленинский район, Облученский район, Октябрьский район, Смидовичский район.

Административным центром области является город Биробиджан.

Экономика

Лидирующие позиции в регионе занимает горнодобывающий сектор. Ведется добыча олова, графитовой руды и марганца.

Сельскохозяйственным производством в Еврейской автономной области занимаются 62 сельскохозяйственных предприятия, 278 крестьянских (фермерских) хозяйства, 12 индивидуальных предпринимателей, 23,9 тысяч граждан, ведущих личное подсобное хозяйство.

Площадь земель сельскохозяйственного назначения в Еврейской автономной области составляет 464,2 тыс. га.

Для создания и развития сельскохозяйственных потребительских кооперативов в Еврейской автономной области сельскохозяйственным потребительским кооперативам предоставляется грантовая поддержка.

Реализуются мероприятия по улучшению жилищных условий граждан, проживающих в сельской местности, в том числе молодых семей и молодых специалистов.

Образование

В области функционируют 83 детских сада, 65 школ, 7 профессиональных образовательных учреждений, 1 вуз - Приамурский государственный университет им. Шолом-Алейхема.

Кроме реализации программ профессионального образования профессиональные образовательные учреждения реализуют достаточно широкий спектр программ профессионального обучения: краткосрочных программ профессиональной подготовки по профессиям рабочих и должностям служащих, программ повышения квалификации и программ переподготовки рабочих и служащих.

На территории Еврейской автономной области осуществляет деятельность Институт комплексного анализа региональных проблем Дальневосточного отделения Российской академии наук.

Культура

Культурно-досуговую деятельность населения обеспечивают 78 клубов, из которых 65 находятся в сельской местности. 38 самодеятельных творческих коллективов имеют звание народного. В них задействовано свыше полутора тысяч человек, в числе которых более тысячи детей и подростков.

Творческие коллективы и солисты с большим успехом выступают не только на концертных площадках области, региона, России, но и всего мира. В регионе работает Биробиджанская областная филармония и театра кукол.

Библиотечная сеть области насчитывает 49 библиотек. 39 из них находятся в сельской местности.

В регионе 19 музеев, среди которых - областной краеведческий музей и Музея современного искусства Еврейской автономной области; 5 детских музыкальных школ, 2 школы искусств, 1 художественная школа, 1 хореографическая школа. Подготовку кадров в сфере культуры осуществляет Биробиджанский областной колледж культуры.

Религия

В настоящее время на территории Еврейской автономной области осуществляют свою деятельность 55 зарегистрированных религиозных организаций, в том числе – две иудейские и одна мусульманская община. Представлены различные направления протестантизма и неопротестантизма: традиционные протестанты, евангельские христиане-баптисты, адвентисты седьмого дня, христиане веры евангельской пятидесятники, христиане веры евангельской, исповедующие харизматическое учение, пресвитериане.